Bill Piburn – Groovy Guitar

Bill Piburn - Groovy Guitar

Mar 5, 2023

Bill Piburn Groovy Guitar PDF. 15 Classic 60s Songs. The "Groovy" in the title refers to the period of the sixties and to the grooves laid down-especially the swinging, walking bass lines running through some of the tunes("Daydream","Spooky","Mellow Yellow" and "Happy Together"). This is definitely for the advanced player who wants to play creatively harmonized chord-melody solos of some great old pop tunes from the sixties. The author plays them on a nylon string but they translate well to steel strings. These arrangements are classy, idiomatic and make the guitar sound really good. I find that Bill Piburn's arrangements are playable on steel string acoustic, nylon string classical and electric guitars. These are not all easy to play arrangements but they are very rewarding and will make anyone who works on them carefully a better player with a greater appreciation (in my opinion) of this marvelous instrument that we love.
This is a book of jazz style arrangements of pop songs from the Sixties. It's a good challenge for the advanced beginner or intermediate level player. But that's pretty ambiguous... how do you know if you are at a level that's ready for a challenge like this? You should be comfortable playing barre chords, but you should also be okay with throwing some single notes in between the chords. Sounds easy enough, but teaching your fingers and your brain to be comfortable switching between a solid downstrum on a barre chord and a short series of notes that highlight the melody, then moving to a different chord for another solid downstrum, all while staying on the beat, is a major challenge and can take a lot of time and energy to learn.
Even if you are a little leery of tackling this (or any of the other books by Bill Piburn, Jeff Arnold, Barry Galbraith, Laurance Juber or the like) if you just focus on learning the easiest song in the book all the way through, you will learn more than if you take a dozen lessons! Just make sure that you get a book with a CD so you can hear what the song is supposed to sound like.

Songs include:

  • Daydream
  • Downtown
  • Happy Together
  • A Hard Day's Night
  • I'll Never Fall In Love Again
  • Last Train To Clarksville
  • Mellow Yellow
  • Listings Continued
  • Scarborough Fair/Canticle
  • (Sittin' On) The Dock Of The Bay
  • Spooky
  • Sunny
  • Up On The Roof
  • Walk On By
  • What Becomes Of The Broken Hearted
  • What The World Needs Now Is Love

Format: PDF + Audio tracks (Mp3). 55 pages

Register or Login to view hidden content!
New User RegistrationExisting Users Log In

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *