Guitar World - How to Play The Jimi Hendrix Experience Axis: Bold As Love

Guitar World - How to Play The Jimi Hendrix Experience Axis: Bold As Love

Apr 3, 2021

Guitar World How to Play The Jimi Hendrix Experience Axis Bold As Love download. Only one DVD will teach you how to play the Jimi Hendrix Experience's groundbreaking 1967 album Axis: Bold as Love. With more than three hours of lessons, How to Play the Jimi Hendrix Experience's Axis: Bold As Love DVD will show you the guitar parts to such album tracks as "Ain't No Telling," "Up from the Skies," "Spanish Castle Magic," "She's So Fine" and "Bold as Love."
Plus, this ultimate DVD includes a behind-the-scenes look at the making of Axis: Bold As Love, complete with rare footage of Jimi Hendrix. Hendrix authority Andy Aledort walks you through every guitar part on Jimi's timeless masterpiece. What's more, each track is meticulously recorded and videotaped at Electric Lady Studios in New York, the facility that Hendrix owned and helped design.
The format of this video is "watch and play" approach. Aledort plays with a backing drummer at full speed and distortion and then repeats at a slower pace with explanation of what chords or scales are being alluded to in the musical passage being analyzed. We get a close-up of his left hand on the main screen and an inset close-up of his right hand work at the same time. He turns down the distortion/effects when playing the slower versions. Typically he instructs on the playing of the backing guitar track first and then moves on to the melody or solo part next playing it over the background tracks.
Aledort explains details of musical explanation as he works the way through the video explaining, say, the pentatonic minor in the first tune and mostly just referring to it at later points in the video. If you aren't working your way through the video in order you may find this annoying but if you are, or you are a more experienced player, you'll be thankful to be saved some of the repetition.
This isn't a great video for a beginning player in terms of understanding the musical theory behind what Jimi is playing. Aledort explains it as if he is referring to concepts to people who already have a understanding of musical concepts. For example, when he says that "Jimi adds a 9 to the chord" here, he does so with the understanding that his audience will understand what he is talking about. The novice player would still know how to play the chord by watching the video though so it is not as if the video does not hold anything for the less experienced.

Songs from the album include:

  • EXP
  • You Got Me Floatin'
  • Up From the Skies
  • Castles Made of Sand
  • Spanish Castle Magic
  • She's So Fine
  • Wait Until Tomorrow
  • One Rainy Wish
  • Ain't No Telling
  • Little Miss Lover
  • Little Wing
  • Bold As Love
  • If 6 Was 9

Guitar World editor-in-chief Brad Tolinski examines the making of the Jimi Hendrix Experience's brilliant second album. This behind-the-scenes documentary also includes commentary by the album's chief engineer (the legendary Eddie Kramer) and rare footage of Hendrix. Plus, the included 11-page booklet gives you the history of rock's electric guitar genius. Guitar World's Alan di Perna unravels the myths and larger-than-life tales that have obscured the real story of Jimi Hendrix, starting with Hendrix's christened full name and ending with an examination of the guitarist's vulnerable psychological state in his final days.

Language: English
Year: 2006
Country: USA
Running time: 02:00:00
Quality: DVD5
Video: MPEG2 NTSC 4:3 (720x480) VBR
Audio: Dolby AC3, 2 ch
Booklet: Yes (PDF)
Size: 4.4 Gb

Guitar World - How to Play The Jimi Hendrix Experience's Axis: Bold As Love

Guitar World - How to Play The Jimi Hendrix Experience's Axis: Bold As Love

Register or Login to view hidden content!
New User RegistrationExisting Users Log In

You may also like...

10 comments on “Guitar World - How to Play The Jimi Hendrix Experience Axis: Bold As Love”

  1. Thank's! i've been searching for this for a long time!! jimi rules!!

  2. lo estaba buscando hace mucho tiempo , gracias man aguente jimi :rockin:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *